The Curriculum

The National Curriculum in England sets out a legal framework to which all schools in England must teach. This covers the subjects of:

Core Subjects

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Religious Education (R.E.)

Foundation Subjects

  • Art & Design
  • Computing
  • Design Technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Languages
  • Music
  • Physical Education (P.E.)

At St. James' we believe that learning best happens when it is built upon previous knowledge or where it is linked to a range of related subjects and so we plan our curriculum in a creative and integrated manner. For example: we arrange for maths skills to be used in PE and Science , and for historical learning to mirror our English writing topics. Through this approach, we know that children achieve more, they understand and remember and they are far more excited about learning and being at school.

EYFS Curriculum

In the Early Years Foundation Stage, we follow the EYFS Curriculum which features three characteristics of effective learning:

  • Playing & Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating & Thinking Critically

The EYFS Curriculum is separated into Prime areas of learning and Specific areas of learning. As you will see, the principles behind the Early Years Curriculum match the care we take with our whole school curriculum.

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  •  Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

Long-Term Overview

Hedgehogs (EYFS)
Foxes (Year 1 & 2)
Badgers (Year 3 & 4)

To find our more about our Curriculum please contact the school.